Whole 30 Days 3-6

I TOLD you I wasn’t going to be able to write everyday! I thought about it, especially with the snow days we had….but just couldn’t bring myself to! 🙂

So, I DEFINITELY hit some rough patches. I sooooo wanted to quit on Day 4. Hard to admit that! I texted my Lent friend/partner in crime and a couple of my besties, though, and made it through! The snow days and being home all day had it’s pros and cons. On the one hand, I got myself back into the cooking and meal prep routine. I wasn’t the MOST prepared person, so it helped me to not be more behind than if we were working! On the other hand, I was home, alone, ALL DAY and that gives a person a LOT of time to sit around and think about food and what foods you can’t eat and what foods you miss! Besides my friends encouraging words and many, many, many (many) prayers, I think what helped me the most was remembering and constantly thinking, “This is all my choice. This is something that I want to help me feel better and lose weight.”

Attention and focus: Hmmm, about the same? I haven’t had many times when I’ve need to really concentrate on something, so hard to tell. I feel my memory is improving a bit.

Energy: Whoa. Still not exactly where I’d like it to be. But last night I was pretty much skipping through the kitchen, excited about my dinner that I’d made, all that I’d accomplished that day (Sunday, btw), and this morning I was pretty full of energy, too! Even after waking up at 5:00 am to go workout with a friend!

Sleep: Hmmm, better? Not sure, ha ha! I think I’m sleeping more, but I’m not entirely sure. 🙂 That could be a good sign, though!

Digestion and indigestion: DEFINITELY improved. I used to get indigestion and heartburn so much more before. Since I started this, I don’t think I’ve had but a couple episodes that were very minor! (and surprisingly not even after my little splurge on Sunday {more on that later}).

Clothes fitting: Same

Sugar cravings: Hmmm same? They come and go. Sometimes they have been very strong. Sometimes they are just in passing. Coffee is still actually the hardest part. Coconut milk is just not the same. Neither is no sweetener. The dates are alright, but I am a texture person and don’t like the bits and pieces in my coffee. I ordered some date syrup that should be Whole30 approved, so I’m hoping that comes tomorrow and makes it better!

Mood: Better! This morning I was in a shockingly good mood, considering I got up at 5 and went back to work for the first time in a week!

Acne: People say it looks better. I don’t see that change so far. However, I’ll take the compliments and see what else happens!

Afternoon slump: Well, today being the first day back, I expected a big slump, especially after being so hyped up this morning! I really thought that I would have been SO exhausted! Truth was, while I was still a little tired after work,  I went home and decided not to take a nap and see how things went. I’ve been surprisingly alright so far, and it’s 8:17 while I’m typing this!

FOOD

Greek Meatballs with Avocado Tzatziki sauce

Just alright. The recipe for the tzatziki sauce calls for yogurt, which you leave out for Whole30. I did that, but the sauce just did NOT turn out right. The cucumbers just wouldn’t blend right. Of course, I did not have a good food processor to use, so that might make it better. But I just saved the rest of the meatballs for a “pasta” night to come.

Sausage and egg breakfast bites

Good. Not amazing. I put salsa on these and used store bought sausage. Sue me. This was one of my first big meals and I wasn’t going the homemade sausage route. I honestly don’t love sausage or eggs, so there may not be a next time for this unless there are people to share it with and cheese to add. But if you love those foods, you’ll probably love this.

Taco seasoning

I made taco meat to put in lettuce leaves. Good. Not the same. Lol! I missed the shell/tortilla and the cheese and sour cream and jalapenos. But I made do with it!

Garlic and Lemon Chicken with Red Potatoes and Green Beans

Second time I’ve made this. And won’t be the last! Delicious!!!

Sweet Potato Hash

Definitely great! I omitted the onions (don’t like). And the beets (wasn’t willing to try a new food just yet). But even without those, it was great!

Pederson’s Bacon

Sugar free bacon. YUM. I was so nervous about this. But LOVE it!!! Definitely a winner!

I’ve also been eating cashews, pistachios, and lots of fruits!

So, how do I feel about all this? Just alright. The positive changes have been great. I still miss the convenience of fast food. Part of that is habit, too, I think. I realized tonight while I was making the sweet potato hash that I managed to completely forget that I enjoy cooking! I like trying new recipes. It’s fun! Sometimes it works, and sometimes not! For the most part, everything has turned out well. There is one thing, a pulled pork recipe, that didn’t turn out great. But I am changing the cut of meat and trying it again! And I do enjoy fresh fruits! I had cantaloupe and strawberries today that were divine. Seriously. Very flavorful! I really really really miss chocolate. But, despite missing my junk foods, I think it will come down to learning balance and learning to enjoy those junk foods in moderation and good quality.

Sunday I decided to have a treat. Choosing to do the Whole30 for Lent is kind of contradicting. Usually people don’t fast on Sundays during Lent. But the Whole30 calls for no treats whatsoever. I decided to go ahead with the treats on Sundays, just a portioned treat and went to Panera to get a brownie and a Mountain Dew. Their brownies are pretty decent size. Not teeny tiny, but not massive either. And I got a medium, not a large, or a gulp size, Mountain Dew. And guess what? I didn’t even finish either of them! I’m pretty proud of that! I paid attention to how they tasted and decided that I just didn’t want anymore.

So, there it is. My Whole30 so far. If you have made it this far into this post, thanks for sticking with me and sharing this experience!

About randomthoughtsandruminations

I'm a 33 year old hard of hearing teacher. I teach students who are also deaf and hard of hearing. I've had a hearing loss all my life, but was blessed with a family who did everything possible to help me become the successful person I am today! Leave a comment if you have anything to say (g-rated please, and no foul language!) and if you want to contact me, let me know! I'm more than willing to answer any questions or help if I can!

Leave a Reply

