Whole30 Days 1 and 2

So, for a while, I have known that I needed to make some changes to my diet. I have made changes here and there, but usually abandoned after a short time, after not seeing changes in my weight as quickly as I liked. But, it quickly became apparent that weight was not the only thing that I wanted to change about myself. My energy levels have been pitiful for only being 33. And I get indigestion and moody from either being tired, not fueling my body appropriately, etc. After watching Fed Up, I decided that Lent made the perfect time to give the Whole30 a try. It is unreal how many foods have sugar!! Even bacon and salad dressings! It is a little daunting and I’ve had a lot of people ask questions, so I decided to try to blog about it (despite my bad blogging history). This way I can share my progress and the delicious recipes (which can be made and enjoyed whether you want to do the Whole30 or not!). My goals from this Whole30 experience is to reset my food preferences and the way I eat and look at food. I hope that, as a result of that goal, that I will lose weight and gain some energy! I will post as often as I can about 9 different aspects that can be (hopefully) positively affected by this experience. Unless something major happens, I probably will only fill in those blanks from here on out. It’s just easier for this non-blogger! 🙂

Before starting the Whole30

Attention and focus: Poor. I space out so easily during lectures or even people speaking for a long time! It’s very hard for me to finish a book that isn’t a super easy read, too.

Energy: Blah. I’m always ready to go back to bed and take a nap and sometimes I’m even ready to go to bed at 8:00 at night! (especially on a work day!)

Sleep: Poor. I wake up several times in the night and never wake up feeling refreshed.

Digestion and indigestion: Definitely have some level of indigestion every day, if not more than once a day!

Clothes fitting: Lately they’ve been tighter! I have definitely gained some weight in the past few years.

Sugar cravings: STRONG! If I don’t get some sugar filled treat everyday, watch out!

Mood: I can tend to get irritated easily at things, especially if I’m tired and it’s afternoon or early evening and I haven’t napped! Plus, my motivation to do much other than lay on the couch or bed and watch tv is pretty low. Being sleepy all the time doesn’t help a person out!

Acne: Cystic acne on my chin, plus other little breakouts. I recently had a breakout from something new I used, and I’m not sure what, so that hasn’t helped much!

Afternoon slump: Blah….my sworn enemy that shows up faithfully, every single day, whether I’m at work or not!

Coffee

So, yesterday was day 2. I HATE black coffee. And putting coconut milk in it does NOT help any. I thought I was going to take someone out over my lack of caffeine yesterday evening. Luckily, I did some more research online and found the idea to put coconut milk, dates, and cinnamon in a blender. I used about a can of coconut milk, 4 dates (take the seeds out!) and a few dashes of cinnamon. Then I just poured it in until I was ok with the taste! This worked pretty well, though it wasn’t as good as my coffee before (flavored creamer with 1 packet Splenda). But, it’ll get me through! Warning: there will be some date bits at the bottom of the cup. I plan to look into either making date paste or just buying some date syrup from Amazon.

Food

Day 1:

Breakfast was 2 eggs baked in avocado halves. This was not easy! I didn’t scoop enough avocado out and then the avocados tilted in the pan and spilled the whites all over the pan. Still tasty, though!

Lunch: Chicken with avocado salsa

This recipe actually called for salmon, but I’m not much of a fish eater and wasn’t going too far out of my box on day 1! So, I subbed the salmon for chicken and baked it in the oven. DELICIOUS!!!

Dinner: Carne Asada

The tomatillo avocado salsa in this recipe is sooooo good! I didn’t have a jalapeno, but I wasn’t changing my plans or going to the store. It was still delicious!

Day 1 was a great success!

Day 2:

Breakfast: just a banana and some dates. Basically skipped breakfast here. Just didn’t want to cook anything!!

Lunch: Leftover chicken from day 1 with leftover tomatillo avocado salsa (the recipe makes a lot for just 1 person!)

Dinner: Salad with avocado and leftover chicken from day 1 (I’d made 6 really small chicken breasts) and homemade balsamic vinegar dressing.

By the way, nothing I have made so far has had onions, because I hate them, lol! More on day 3 later!

About randomthoughtsandruminations

I'm a 33 year old hard of hearing teacher. I teach students who are also deaf and hard of hearing. I've had a hearing loss all my life, but was blessed with a family who did everything possible to help me become the successful person I am today! Leave a comment if you have anything to say (g-rated please, and no foul language!) and if you want to contact me, let me know! I'm more than willing to answer any questions or help if I can!

One response to “Whole30 Days 1 and 2”

  1. Jessica says :

    So excited for you… This is going to be a great experience and a NEW YOU!

Leave a Reply

