New Changes!

Thought I’d write a quick update! I haven’t started my mini-journal, but I have noticed some changes. I have pretty much worn only my implant Saturday, Sunday and today (Monday). I did wear my hearing aid during dinner out with a friend last night and for about 10 minutes today at school, but otherwise I left it turned off. We had an after school meeting today and I had a sign language interpreter because I had to make sure I got the information. I know I missed some information, though, because it was my first meeting since activation and I was really curious what I could understand of the speaker without looking at him. I was surprised at how many words I could understand him say without the visual cues! I really wish I could have counted the words or tried to make a list of what I understood, but that’s hard when it’s a normal speed of speaking and it also would have given away my purposeful mental absence from the presentation. 🙂 I have noticed a slightly more normal sound to speech, though not entirely normal by any means. At least my voice doesn’t completely get on my nerves now! MAJOR plus! 🙂 🙂

Tomorrow night I was supposed to have a staff meeting, but I found out that’s been canceled. Whoo hoo! So I’ll post some pictures of the processor, some of the stuff I got and the audiogram with a bit of explanation about that. It’s the hearing test I had done before the surgery and on the first day of activation. Hopefully I can find or get my hands on an audiogram that shows the sounds that people hear and where they would appear on it. This usually helps people understand a little more about what I can and can’t hear without any kind of hearing aids or the implant.

About randomthoughtsandruminations

I'm a 33 year old hard of hearing teacher. I teach students who are also deaf and hard of hearing. I've had a hearing loss all my life, but was blessed with a family who did everything possible to help me become the successful person I am today! Leave a comment if you have anything to say (g-rated please, and no foul language!) and if you want to contact me, let me know! I'm more than willing to answer any questions or help if I can!

Leave a Reply

